and they’re off

Well, sorta. As you can see, I still have some bottom brackets. I opted for a permanent retainer, so I had to keep some brackets on so nothing moves before I get my retainers next month.

My orthodontist worked hard to get the glue off my teeth, which was a little uncomfortable. He also shaped them a little bit. There is a chance that a little gap may open up between my teeth before I get my retainers, but he said he could fix that “Grand Canyon” with my retainer.

I had planned to bite through a piece of lettuce to celebrate my braces removal, but I think my mouth would prefer an apple. Unfortunately, I need to wait until those bottom brackets are off. But once they are, man, I’m biting through so many apples.

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask! I am not updating this blog regularly, but I do see new comments. If you’d like to have your jaw blog added to my list, let me know. The more inspiration, the better!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “and they’re off

  1. kita

    congrats! It’s been awhile! Lucky you! I have until the 24th!

  2. Lindsay

    Hey! I found you via Double Jaw Surgery, and really appreciate your blog…especially the food ideas. 🙂 I’m 37 days away from surgery, and can’t wait to be on the other side. This has been a looong journey for me. I’d love to be added to your blog roll, if you’re still updating it. http://www.lindsaylackey.com (Musings of a Lockjaw)

    Thank you!

  3. Abby

    Did your bite ever close in the back?

    • TK

      Yes it did! It was completely closed after surgery and have remained that way. My orthodontist actually encouraged me to chew gum to ensure that they would stay closed to train the teeth.

  4. So incredibly lucky!! I can’t wait to reach that moment!

Leave a Reply

