hotel dieu’s recommendations

As I mentioned in my previous post, my surgeon gave me a packet to help me with my post-surgical diet. It is from Hotel Dieu Hospital in Ontario.

Unfortunately, it appears it’s no longer online.

The packet has some good tips:

– Cherries and pineapple don’t puree well.

– Cabbage and celery don’t puree well.

– Canned beans and lentils are delicious when pureed (I completely forgot about baked beans! I bet those taste great mixed up on a baby spoon).

– Skim milk powder is a great way to add extra nutrition to milk-based dishes, including a cup of milk itself.

– Save low-calorie liquids, such as water and coffee, for the end of the meal so you don’t fill up on them.

– Fiber is important, as pain medications will cause constipation. In addition to beans, you can get enough fiber by adding wheat germ, natural bran or prune juice to your meals.

Some of the recipe suggestions are less than tempting (hearty fish chowder, anyone?), but at least they’re creative.  Here are two smoothie recipes that you can just blend and drink. I’m on the fence about whether I’d make these, but at least they’re new recipes to me.

Violet Froth

– 3/4 c. pineapple juice

– 1/4 c. grape juice

– 1 c. plain yogurt

– 1 banana

– 3 cubes ice

Orange Buttermilk Shake

– 1 c. buttermilk

– 2 tbs. brown sugar

– 1/2 c. orange juice

– 1 c. vanilla ice cream

While I was looking up more information about the Violet Froth, I found this mocktail recipe book (.pdf) that has some fairly decent recipes. I’m going to miss alcohol during this process, but I’d be down for a Safe Sex on the Beach.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “hotel dieu’s recommendations

  1. Mikey

    Hearty fish chowder sounds delicious! Don’t be hatin, yo.

    I think you’d die before drinking prune juice.

Leave a Reply

